Voyage of the Dawn Treader

Is anyone else out there a major Narnia fan? I saw Voyage of the Dawn Treader over break and it was amazing! I was whisked away into a magical land. I saw foreign islands full of mystery and treasure. I witnessed a fight between good and evil. I saw people choose between fame and glory or honor and humility.

To say the least, it was incredible! I’ve always been a fan of the Narnia movies and their magical appeal. I saw The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe at our on campus theater with my girls freshmen year of college. I remember going back to the dorm that night and my roommate Lauren kept saying that she wished she could go to Narnia when she fell asleep. She was hooked for sure!

When I saw Prince Caspian I became more interested in Narnia. Caspian for one is completely handsome :). And then there’s Lucy. I’ve always identified with Lucy and her childlike heart. She has such a heart for Aslan and his way, yet struggles to find him sometimes.

Lucy Pevensie: Aslan, will we ever meet with you in our world?
Aslan: You shall.
Lucy Pevensie: How?
Aslan: Because there I have another name. You must learn to know me by that name. This was the very reason why you were brought to Narnia, that knowing me here for a little, you may know me better there.

C.S. Lewis does a wonderful job of painting so many beautiful allegories into these classic stories. Line after line in the movie reminded me of life and of Christ.

I’m usually the one to read a book first before I will see the movie version (as I did with Harry Potter) but I have yet to read the Narnia books. After seeing Voyage of the Dawn Treader I decided that I must read the books ASAP. Thankfully I remembered that my mom had the whole boxed set from when my brother read them as a kid. Over Christmas I made sure to get them out of the crawl space.

I love that I found them because that’s money saved! And I love them because they are old. Old books are special. I could spend hours in used bookstores. The history and antiqueness is lovely!

And yes, next to the books on the shelf is a stuffed sheep.

My Aunt gave it to me years ago. She got it for me on a trip to England. I think it’s cute.

The end.

2 Comments

Filed under Entertainment/TV

2 responses to “Voyage of the Dawn Treader

  1. I loved the first two films, am waiting for this one on blu ray, I love being drawn into a new magical world!

  2. ZAROVE

    I also liked the Movie but, they did make some major Changes between this and the Original Book.

Leave a Reply

