Generation Go

I see a generation rising up
No longer accepting lies
As a band of worshipers run to the battlefield
They’re finding their lives

I hear a voice

– A Voice Calling Out, Bethany Dillon

A concept that I have been struggling and pondering over a lot in the past year is the issue of Christians not having any role in missions. After Belize and India I have a huge heart for missions, as you have probably noticed on this blog. I struggle with staying here in America and pray that someday the Lord would call me elsewhere. My problem is that I don’t want to be called here. But for what seems to be a large majority of American Christians there is a struggle to not want to go at all. It’s quite easy actually. Our American Dream has “a lot to offer” and it is easy to become entangled in the things of this world. I know that as I often wander down the paths of entertainment, pleasure, and comfort.

At Bible Study meeting this summer we studied Psalms 96-99 and discussed how there was a common theme of praise for God among the nations. Our leader discussed this same thing I have been thinking about – why don’t we just go? He challenged us to all look at our own lives and reconsider missions as a lifetime goal.

At youth camp we did a scenario activity in which we read a true story of persecution of a Christian in India. It was all very real to me as the story was something I heard about daily from the Christians I spent time with. After reading the story we had the students go through some discussion questions and then spend some time in prayer. I told my group of young middle school girls to look up the Great Commission verse. I asked them if they thought the word “GO” was just for a certain group of people or if it was for everyone.

What it all basically boils down to is that I feel there is a generation of Christians rising up that are planning on going into missions until or unless God stops them and calls them elsewhere. This was something the Bible Study leader said as well that unless you have a strong call from the Lord to be here you had better reevaluate your life. What powerful words! I was blessed last summer to get to know a great group of like-minded young adults that have a passion to see the gospel spread across the globe. We all discussed how we want our generation to rise up and serve the Lord all over the world, no matter what.

But do we actually live this way? Are we willing to go? I think that many Christians today are missing out on going. They are staying. Staying exactly put in their lazy boy lifestyle. I have to ask myself constantly how I fall into this category. I believe that the Great Comission verse is not just for pastors and bible teachers and those who receive a special calling but for ALL Christians.

Therefore GO and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” Matthew 28:19-20 NIV, emphasis added

This verse says “Go”. This simple command is so powerful yet so often overlooked or mistreated. Yes, “Go” does not mean the same thing for everyone but it does mean one thing: doing something, aka not sitting in your lazy boy anymore. I fully believe that if we embraced this command the world would be completely different. As John Piper says “missions exists because worship doesn’t”.

And if you feel that are called to go to your neighborhood, your school/university, or your workplace, that’s great! But make sure that your going to these places isn’t simply living life as usual but intentional and Christ-oriented.

And get ready. Going and obeying the Lord reaps some great blessings! šŸ™‚

1 Comment

Filed under evangelism, missions, Scripture, spiritual growth

One response to “Generation Go

  1. oneDirection

    I like your thoughts on this, missions have always been a part of my life and once you go on one you can’t help but go on more! Over the years I have realized that my missions don’t always have to be in another country, but could be right down the road from me. We need to be ready to go in whatever direction He is pointing us! Great Post!

Leave a Reply

