blonde moment #50 million

It was a nice, icky, rainy, cloudy day. Instead of curling up on the couch with a good book (maybe some Harry Potter) I decided to go get a TB test done. I mean, that is what completely rational, fun-loving people do these days, right? Well ok, at least all of the fun-loving people that also happen to be student teaching in the spring. 

My fun-loving friend Heather and I traveled to my favorite place: The Student Health Center. (Insert music th at dramatically goes duh-duh-duuuuhhhh). If you are a faithful blog reader you will know that this was the place of my demise last semester as I found out that I had mono and as I almost passed out and had to be wheeled to the inpatient unit where they made me stay till I could walk. I have some rather unpleasant memories and really would like to not be back there. But with my trusty friend Heather at my side I figured I could make it without passing out. Hopefully.

I should mention that I was already exhausted by 5pm, the point at which all of the excitement takes place. I was on campus from 8:30-4 and then back by 5. I also had my Student Teaching Interview in the afternoon which caused some anxiety and all around butterflies in my stomach. 

By the time we got to the Student Health Center I was loopy. Seriously I was just saying stupid things and laughing and making Heather laugh in the process. All I wanted was my bed.

We walked into the Post Office to cut through to the Student Health Center. I was wearing Rainbow’s. I wore my cute pink mary jane Crocs all day long since I knew wearing heels or nice shoes for my interview would cause a great accident (I had nice shoes in my backpack and put them on right before the interview). I opened the door to the Post Office, took about 1.53 steps into the building, felt my wonderfully padded and cushiony shoes waver and WHAM, I was on the ground. Full out slippage everywhere. I think I tried to catch myself mid-air, which really isn’t possible at all since what are you going to grab in mid-air especially when there is just air. This caused the fall to be even more hilarious. 

Feet twisted, purse flying, hands flailing fall. I’m on the ground all splayed out and there is this guy checking his mail who I know is just staring at me. Poor guy, all he wanted was his mail but instead he had to witness the blondest moment of the century. He stared at me. Heather stared at me. I think they both were concerned for me, since I was just there, on the ground.

I realized no major damage was done so I did what anyone who just had a cinema worthy fall would do: laughed hysterically. I mean I really let it out. I was laughing so hard that I had to stop and remind myself to breathe. Heather joined in with the laughter at this point and we just let loose. Mail checker guy left. I never really saw his expression on his face and I would pay like 50 million schrute bucks to see that in some sort of replay. 

I got up, dusted myself off and we started off again. I almost had another catastrophe but I caught myself and managed to get the walking thing under control again. The laughing part took much longer to control. I didn’t care that people were staring at me, they didn’t just experience a life-changing moment. I laughed, I laughed, and then just when I thought it might be all out of me, I laughed some more.

So word to the wise: Rainbows + Rain + Really Ditzy Blonde = A Fall Worthy of News Coverage.

2 Comments

Filed under daily life, humor

2 responses to “blonde moment #50 million

  1. piratesinnc

    I would have given 100 million Schrute bucks just to have seen

  2. Hahaha, thanks for sharing that, Julie! I have blond moments on an hourly basis, oftentimes involving falls. It’s nice to know I’m not alone. Glad you weren’t hurt and could laugh it off.

Leave a Reply

