on writing

I’ve been posting more often these days. That is normally a good thing.

Yet I’m not necessarily pleased with my “writing self” lately. I feel as if everything is quick, thrown-together, and unexciting. The same goes for my personal journal. I used to write/type in a word document every single day. It was my daily vent, my time to get all of those amusing, hilarious, thoughtful, pensive, sad, or even angry thoughts out before my head hit the pillow.

I don’t do that now. Of course I am busy. But everyone is busy. Most people, or at least the ones I know, really don’t have “time” to do the things they really want to in life. So excuses don’t count in my book anymore. In a year I will graduate and be busy and then I’ll hopefully get a real job and be busy or start some great adventure and be busy. Then maybe I’ll get married and be busy and possibly have children which is where they say the REAL busyness begins. 

It’s all just one big excuse.  I love to write. I love the feeling of really getting my thoughts out into written form. I love a beautifully written mess. But I also crave writing that has deep meaning and the ability to change lives. I read novels frequently. Most of them have impacted my life in one way or another. I want to write like that.

Where do I start? How do I begin to “write well” again? Is there a method? Can I get a prescription? What do I write about? Who even cares what I write about? What good does my writing do? 

I think they call this thing writer’s block. Blech I don’t like it.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “on writing

  1. piratesinnc

    Ach! The writer’s block is still continuing I see!

Leave a Reply

