Retro Christian Music

Okay, so this may not be “retro” to some readers, but I have fallen in love with Keith Green music lately. My parents listened to it as I was growing up and I always thought it was fun because my brother’s name is Keith as well. I remember riding in our old Plymouth Green Mini-Van listening to tapes (that’s retro, huh?) of Keith Green. I probably complained at the time about how I didn’t like it. I did that a lot with my parents – whined about stuff that I thought was dorky or odd but I now love.

It’s just good, pick-me-up, yet honest and preach the gospel music. Consider the following lyrics:

Jesus Commands Us To Go:

Jesus commands us to go,

It should be the exception if we stay.

It’s no wonder we’re moving so slow,

When God’s children refuse to obey,

Feeling so called to stay.

 

I just read the lyrics to this song (You Love the World) for the first time and it hit me hard. It’s amazing how God gives you just the truth you need to hear at the right time. I need to let the words of this song sink into my heart and lead me to the cross.

I want you here with me.

But you’ve been keeping other company.

You can’t sit still, it’s plain to see.

You love the world and you’re avoiding me.

My word sits there upon your desk.

But you love your books and magazines the best.

Prefer the light of your TV.

You love the world, and you’re avoiding me.

You used to pray, you were so brave.

Now you can’t keep even one appointment we’ve made.

Oh I gave my blood, to save you life.

Tell me, tell me is it right?

Will you leave me here along again tonight?

Well I love you, still more and more.

But you’re fighting everything I’m working for.

You’re acting like my enemy.

You love the world and you’re avoiding me.

These other loves, they’re hurting you.

If you end up losing me, then what will you do?

Oh, I gave my blood, to save your life.

Tell me, tell me is it right?

Will you leave me here alone again tonight?

Well, I want you, here with me.

But you’ve been keeping other company.

Prefer the light, of your TV.

You love the world, and you’re avoiding me.

You love the world, you love the world,

You love the world and you’re avoiding me.

Oh, you love the world.

You love the world and you’re avoiding me.

Leave a comment

Filed under favorites, missions, music, spiritual growth

Leave a Reply

