snippets from my day

“there’s an immense lack of Gilbert in this part” – rooms during the part of Anne of Avonlea where Anne is teaching at the Girls School

“Ms. Richardson, I had fun today. Oh and my dad he has these arrowheads and I could bring them in.” – a fourth grader who made my day after I taught Social Studies.

Sitting with a group of students in the hall, checking spelling. One child tells one of the girls that there is a spider on the wall behind her. She looks back and screams and runs away. I start laughing. One of the boys, who is quite the athletic child and also is a big hunter takes off his shoe mutters “aww c’mon” and smacks the thing to its death. Chivalry is still alive in fourth grade my friends.

I gave the students the quote “Those who cannot learn from history are doomed to repeat it”. I asked them to think about what it means and why we study history. I circled the room and asked one group what they thought it meant. They said that the thought it meant that if you don’t study real hard and work hard and do your homework you will fail the test and not pass the class. 

I love teaching. I love my students. It’s been a good day.

Leave a comment

Filed under daily life, humor, teaching

Leave a Reply

