longing for white

I woke up this morning wanting white. It snowed last night –correction it came DOWN – and I fell asleep all cuddled up under the covers hoping that I would awaken to a blanket of snow over everything.  I still love that feeling of peering through the window blinds early in the morning just hoping for pounds of snow. As a child if there was a chance of snow I would eagerly  jump out of bed to check. Of course my motive was that I wanted a snow day, but hey who can blame any kid for that.

When I peered through the blinds this mornings I saw that the grass and tops of cars and roofs were completely white but the roads were as clear as ever. So now “snow day” per say and not exactly the shade and degree of white I was wishing for. As I began my morning, turning on my straightener, getting some coffee making (decaf is my new addiction) I began to realize that I also having a longing to be white in my heart. To be white as snow and pure in the eyes of the Lord. Lately I have felt tarnished and bruised, mostly due to my business as I wrote in the last post.

And now I long for white.

 

Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean; 
      

wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.

Psalm 51:7

God’s voice thunders in marvelous ways; he does great things beyond our understanding. He says to the snow, ‘Fall on the earth,’ and to the rain shower, ‘Be a mighty downpour.’ So that all men he has made may know his work, he stops every man from his labor.

Job 37:5-7

 

learn to do right!

Seek justice, encourage the oppressed.

Defend the cause of the fatherless,

plead the case of the widow.

“Come now, let us reason together,” says the Lord.

“Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow;

though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool.

If you are willing and obedient,

you will eat the best of from the land;

Isaiah 1:17-19

 

Lord make me whiter than snow. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Scripture, spiritual growth

Leave a Reply

