the problem with mindful storing

Have you ever put something in a certain place just so that you would be able to find it there and then later when you need it have no clue where you put it? I am the queen of this problem. I call it the creative mess syndrome. I am a messy person. I’ve gotten a lot better over the years but still my room usually has some sort of dissarray going on. My desk almost never is clear, there are a couple random piles in the corner and my bookshelf is always overflowing with “treasures”.

Today I was trying to find a Valentines present that I am working on for a dear friend and knew that I had put it somewhere “special”. Problem was I didn’t remember where that special place was. After some hunting and thinking I found it and breathed a sigh of relief. As I thought about the circumstance I thought of how we as Christians often “misplace” our faith. We take our faith, our feelings, our knowledge of scripture, and store them up in a place that we tell ourselves we can access when we need to. And then we go on with life. We store Jesus away on a shelf, in a dusty box, behind our DVDs and framed pictures of friends. Sure we mean well. We mean to access our faith more often, to take it off the shelf and really utilize it. But then the syndrome kicks in – we forget where we stored it. Was it on the shelf? Or maybe in the laundry room? The depths of our heart or the intracies of our mind? The choices and chances become far too vast and we simply just give up.

Christ does not deserve to be stored. The Bible does say to store up your treasure in heaven, however, which is a good idea. But what Jesus wants for us is more than a tool or item to access when we are in trouble or needy. Faith is to be like shoes that are worn daily, or a ring that symbolizes a pledge. Faith is for everyday, everywhere. 

I think I’m still learning this lesson. I tend to compartmentalize my life very quickly and thoughtlessly and often my faith and my Jesus are “stored” away. The syndrome is really called sin and it’s a bitter business. It steals, rots, and destroys all under the cover of glittery appeal. I pray that today I may choose to not store my faith away but to pick it up off the shelf, dust it off, and live the way Jesus called me to.

“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. Matthew 6:19-21

Leave a comment

Filed under daily life, spiritual growth

Leave a Reply

