my reading list

I thought I might share my current reading list. It’s big. It’s too long. It’s impossible. I’ll probably be on this list for a while. I seem to be pulled in many directions right now with school and home and my reading is reflecting that. This has been a horrible reading semester as I often fall asleep after say 5 pages. But I have resolved to try to read more. So here it is, the list of reading greatness:

1. Every Now and Then by Karen Kingsbury – It’s Karen Kingsbury. C’mon. Enough said.

2. Educating Esme by Esme Raji Codell – A year in the life of a first year teacher. Last semester in one of my methods classes we had the choice of reading this book or another teacher book. I read the other one (Sahara Special which was great!) but was always entrigued by this one. It should be a good read.

3. Teach Like Your Hair’s On Fire by Rafe Esquith – You mean my hair’s NOT on fire? Again another teacher memoir. The catchy title roped me in.

4. Peter and the Starcatchers by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson – I had this awesome reading professor in college that got me hooked on high quality children’s literature. Unfortunately I was not in her section last semester, but some of my friends were. I heard about the books they read and this was one of them. It’s the prequel to Peter Pan and is supposed to be spellbinding. 

5. Mercy Watson to the Rescue by Kate DiCamillo – I read the Tale of Despearaux in my Childrens Lit Class and thought it was great. Haven’t seen the movie and am not sure if I will after hearing mixed reviews. But when I found about the Mercy Watson books I knew I had to give them a try. They are about a pig. An adorable, pink, pig. This is not going to be a hard read considering they are children’s books but still I am excited!

6. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling – If I ever finish Harry Potter send me a certificate or award. It’s been a long road for me. I love Harry Potter. Absolutely do. But I think that since Harry Potter is so excellent he does not deserve to be read in small parts over the course of many weeks. I think Harry deserves to be devoured in a couple of days. This is how I read books two, three and four last summer and it was divine. I also listened to some on Audio CD in January. I liked that a lot because the guy who reads the books does a great job with all of the character’s voices – so I have this on request with the public library. Once I get it I’ll never want to get out of the car when I get to school.

7. Persuasion by Jane Austen – I told myself in January that I would read more classic books this year. So I used some B&N cards and the great buy 2, get 1 free classics deal there to get three Austen books. I’m a huge Austen fan. Read Emma in high school. Love the movies. But I’ve never read all of them. Persuasion is good. I like it. But it can be hard to get through – it’s not mindless reading. I will finish it. It’s my goal. Then I can watch the movie!

8. Crash by Jerry Spinelli – I did my Childrens Lit Author Study on Jerry Spinelli. Loser is one of my all time favorite Childrens books. I cry and laugh the whole way through. I saw Crash on Audio CD at the library and thought it would be a good listen as I do my morning and evening commutes.

Any good reads you are working on? Leave a comment and let me know!

Leave a comment

Filed under books

Leave a Reply

