leave a toothbrush

I love hospitality. Ok, unfortunately I have not been the one offering the hospitality so much lately but I have been on the receiving end often and it is so fantastic. The past two Friday nights I spent the night at some dear friends’ house. This family extends to become a dear group of people that is part of my extended family here. We have been spending lots of fun time together this summer as people have been home from college. This is the house where I can just show up randomly and hang out, eat dinner at once a week, and just be myself. I never feel like I have to be someone else there.

We were supposed to go camping this weekend but a weather report for heavy thunderstorms changed our plans. We “camped” indoors instead. We made hobos in the oven, watched a movie  (ok so that’s not a camping activity) and then Sarah and I slept on an air mattress in her room. And us girls had fun last night. We were jumping on air mattresses, laughing, telling crazy stories and basically acting like middle school girls all over again. It was a blast and I loved every single moment of it.

Of course in my quick pack to head over there yesterday I forgot a couple things, namely my toothpaste and toothbrush. Now toothpaste is something that can be easily taken from someone else but a toothbrush is kind of a no sharer. I asked Mama G if they had any extra toothbrushes and she found one for me. Katie told me to just label it with my initials and put it in a drawer in the bathroom after I used it. She said I could just keep it there for whenever I came over. When I opened the drawer I saw that I was not the only one to be in the toothbrush club.

That my friends is true hospitality. Loving and wanting to live life together enough that you give people their own toothbrush at your house. I love it. I felt so welcomed and loved by such a small act. I mean there are many items that I can go without or borrow if I happen to spend the night without prior planning or am there for a long day, but a toothbrush is a special thing. Now I don’t have to worry about that even! Giving me a toothbrush is more than just caring about the smell of my breath. It says “hey you are welcome here whenever. Come and hang out and stay as long as you like”.

I need some practice in being hospitable. I don’t have my own place so it’s kind of tricky but I am trying to work on learning things from my family and others that I can one day hopefully put into practice with my own family. One thing is for sure: there will be a toothbrush drawer!

Leave a comment

Filed under daily life, Friends

Leave a Reply

