When A House Becomes A Home

The phrase “there’s no place like home” has been mulling in my mind lately. As I spent a good deal of my track out decorating and nesting I pondered what it means for a house to become a home, not just merely a place to lay your head or walls with a roof attached. Because really a home is so much more than a house:

My house becomes a home when I delight in taking care of it in the small things such as washing the dishes, sweeping, and picking up.

My house becomes a home when a night in is a time of refreshment and relaxation.

My house becomes a home when coming home from work is eagerly looked forward to.

My house becomes a home when hospitality becomes a part of everyday life.

My house becomes a home when I enjoy the simple moments of just sitting and being.

My house becomes a home when sounds of laughter float between the walls.

My house becomes home when “fancy items” such as a china teacup are pulled out for no special reason at all.

My house becomes a home when Christ is the head and His love is evident to all who enter.

When does your house become a home?

 

2 Comments

Filed under home

2 responses to “When A House Becomes A Home

  1. Thank you — for welcoming us into your home.
    This is a place to come back to…

    All’s grace,
    Ann Voskamp
    Contributing Editor, High Calling Blogs

  2. I realy like the expresion in that picture, feels home.

Leave a Reply

