Books in Belize

I read so many books in Belize. Here’s the list:

1. Choosing to See by Mary Beth Chapman – Been on my list for a while, my sister in law Jessica said it was good. It was such a portrait of grace. I bawled my eyes out. Mary Beth is very down to earth and vulnerable yet shines God’s grace on her entire life. I was captivated.

2. How Sweet It Is by Alice J. Wisler – Good coming of age/growing up fiction read. I enjoyed reading most of this book on the hammock on Amber’s porch.

3. Elementary, My Dear Watkins by Mindy Starns Clark – 3rd book in the series that I love. Mystery, humor and fun. This one especially had a lot of mystery. I really wanted to keep reading it, couldn’t put it down!

4. A Billion Reasons Why by Kristin Billerbeck – I knew that buying the new Kristin Billerbeck book would be a good idea. It was a GREAT idea! I devoured half of this book on the plane and finished it the first full day in Belize. Then I passed it on to Amber and made her read it. She couldn’t put it down either!

5. Five Love Languages Singles Edition by Gary Chapman – I read the regular version of this book (for the married folks) in college and found it extremely truthful and wise. The singles one was on our bookshelf at home so I grabbed it and took it with me. I’m about half way through but am finding the advice and insights that Chapman provides helpful. The cool part is he writes about applying the five love languages to all kinds of relationships (friends, parents, roommates, coworkers), not just marriage.

6. Sweet Mandarin by Helen Tse – Judy, the sweet visiting doctor’s wife while I was there, was reading this book and told me all about it. Then she promptly finished it and gave it to me. She is too kind! I started it on the trip home and am very intrigued. It follows 3 generations of Chinese women and their struggles and celebrations in poverty, work, love, and life.

I really enjoyed having time to read! It’s something I truly enjoy but have a hard time finding time to sit down and do it! This vacation was perfect in that without TV and many other distractions I had PLENTY of time to sit (or lay in the hammock) and enjoy a good story!

Leave a comment

Filed under book reviews, books

Leave a Reply

