Weekend Projects

Home Depot and I were friends this weekend. I was there twice. I love going in there and acting like a complete blonde. I’m sure the Home Depot workers get a kick out of me. Consider this conversation:

Home Depot Man (HDM): How may I help you?
Me: I’m looking for wire mesh.
HDM: What kind of mesh? We sell it in big rolls.
Me: Tightly woven.
HDM: What do you need it for? (At this point he probably thinks I am screening a porch or something.)
Me: I’m making a framed earring holder.
HDM: Try aisle 6, you may be able to find a piece in a small repair kit so you don’t have to buy a whole roll.
Me: Thank you!
HDM (to himself): Oh my goodness. (Chuckles)

And I did have to buy a whole roll. It was only $6. The “repair kit” was like 2 inches of screen. Wasn’t gonna cut it.
Any how, here’s what I made:

I started with a cheapo wood frame from Goodwill. It didn’t have glass or any kind of back so it was like $1.50.

And I turned it into this:

A framed earring holder! My friend Megan has one of these and I’ve always wanted one. They sell on Etsy for about $40 but I figured I could make my own. I used this DIY Tutorial and it was really easy! I used hot glue for mine. I love that it displays all of my earrings so that I can actually see what I have!

It’s hanging right next to my mirror so I can pick a pair in the mornings and see how they look. Please ignore my Saturday Bum Look. 😉

I also made this today:

A chalkboard in a frame. Again, another cheap Goodwill frame that I spray painted and then used Chalkboard spray paint on the foam mat that came with the frame. So easy! This is hanging in my kitchen. I need some better quote ideas – anything? (And yes, my chalkboard handwriting is not the cutest and I AM a teacher. Oh well!)

In other news last week I bought a cute Michael’s pillow cover that I knew would be perfect on my bed.

It says “believe” and matches my walls perfectly!

The plaque above my headboard also says “believe”. I guess I really like that word!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under decorating, home

Leave a Reply

