books

I have been quite the reader lately! I had some time on my hands during track out and then this past week as I have been home sick with a nasty throat virus. I thought I would share what I’ve been reading.

Longing by Karen Kingsbury. Because I’ve been addicted to the Baxter Family now Flanigan Family Series forever.

The Hunger Games. Never ever thought I would read these. Seriously, they sounded awful. Then I placed a big Scholastic book order for school and it gave me a “Pick one of these books now for free” from a list of teen novels. Of which I have no use for with my 2nd graders. So I saw the Hunger Games and went “ehh people have said they’re good it’s free so I’ll give it a try.” I COULD NOT put book one down. Good thing this was the beginning of track out because I had the freedom to do just that. And then I precisely bought the second two and read them on my ipad. They are SOOOO good!

Deadly Decor Series by Ginny Aiken. The first book in this series is free for Kindle so I gave it a shot. It was funny, intriguing and had me hooked. I read all 3 and thoroughly enjoyed them.

Save the Date by Jenny B Jones. Recommended by one of the girls in my small group. I got this one on the kindle in the middle of my sick week. It provided me with a good escape.

073290

Bon Appetit and Piece de Resistance Sandra Byrd. I read the first book in the series, Let Them Eat Cake, a while ago and enjoyed it. The other two were equally enjoyable. I was whisked away to Paris (a nice respite from my couch where I have been all week long) in a fun romantic, coming of age story. Only bad part was I kept wanting to eat pastries. 🙂

Most of these I read on my ipad. I use the kindle app. I’ve found that:

1 – I am much too impatient (and lazy in the case of being sick) to go to the store and buy a book. Oh and I’m pretty sure the library has wanted posters with my face on them for overdue fines.

2 – Kindle books are pretty cheap and sometimes free.

The ipad isn’t the absolute best for reading (it’s kind of heavy and I’m sure staring at the screen isn’t great for my eyes) but it works. I would like to get a Kindle sometime in the near future. Both of my parents have one and they recently got a Kindle Touch for my Grandpa for Christmas. But the good thing is I dim the brightness down a lot so it’s not quite as bad.

Leave a comment

January 15, 2012 · 7:40 pm

Leave a comment